We are thrilled to announce the release of FREE ENERGY’s highly anticipated album, Stuck On Nothing, coming out May 4th 2010 on DFA Records. Free Energy also recently performed on the Late Show with David Letterman, which you can see here on YouTube.

Good music emancipates the listener. Boring jobs, troubled relationships, rush hour traffic… such mundane prisons are no match for the liberating power of a fantastic pop song. Think of Stuck On Nothing as one giant stack of “Get Out Of Jail Free” cards.

Propelled by cowbell and carbonated guitars, Free Energy?s eponymous theme song—and debut single— finds front man Paul Spranger declaring “We?re gonna start a new life, and see how it goes.” Which is exactly what Paul and his songwriting foil, Scott Wells, did when they left St. Paul, MN for new digs in Philadelphia.

Free Energy marks a leap forward from their previous band, indie combo Hockey Night. “Hockey Night was not as focused, a little more reserved,” says the vocalist. By way of contrast, the driving pulse of Free Energy?s “Bang Pop” could jump start a stalled semi-truck, and “Bad Stuff” juxtaposes vapor trail guitars with nimble riffs that rival Thin Lizzy. Snippets of glam, power pop, bubblegum and arena rock all filter into the mix.

The ten songs of Stuck On Nothing began life as a string of modest, homemade demos, but only as a jumping-off point. “You can just make little four-track things that are pleasing to listen to, but we?re a rock n roll band, and rock n roll music is supposed to be dance music,” insists Wells. So the band—which also includes Geoff Bucknam, Nicholas Shuminsky, and Scott?s brother, Evan Wells—turned to producer James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem.

“James helped us achieve a big sound that we were unsure of how to realize ourselves,” Sprangers acknowledges. Yet that “big sound” Murphy helped them flesh out is deceptively finessed, too. The unhurried tempo of “All I Know” may evoke Marc Bolan at the height of his arena-filling fame, yet the exhalations of breath that pan back and forth in your ear buds inject a hint of intimacy, too.

But unlike many of their young peers, they evoke earlier eras without winking. They don?t stand over a trapdoor marked “irony.” Their originals feel immediate and of-the-now. In part, that contemporary edge is a product of their youth, and an aesthetic forged on the indie rock circuit. It also reflects the circuitous path they took through modern music to arrive at the Free Energy sound.

And if something didn?t come naturally while recording? They threw out the blueprint and forged ahead. Hence the name, Stuck on Nothing. To their surprise, those three little words had never been used as an album title. Free Energy were happy to rectify that oversight immediately. How could they not? “It just sounds like a rock & roll album,” says Wells. And he should know. Because his band just made a great one.


Stuck On Nothing

01 Free Energy
02 Dream City
03 Bang Pop
04 All I Know
05 Bad Stuff
06 Dark Trance
07 Psychic Lightning
08 Light Love
09 Hope Child
10 Wild Wind

17 June 2010 – Toronto, ON @ NXNE – Early show @ Yonge Dundas Square w/ Mudhoney, X, Brant Bjork, and Icarus Line (6 PM)
17 June 2010 – Toronto, ON @ NXNE – Late show @ Horseshoe Tavern for KEXP Night w/ Warpaint and Elliott Brood (10 PM)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top