Jake and the Leprechauns Album “At Midnight, The Birdsong” Out June 22nd

Jake and the Leprechauns Album “At Midnight, The Birdsong” Out June 22nd

We’re excited to spread the good word about the third upcoming album from JAKE AND THE LEPRECHAUNS, titled “At Midnight, The Birdsong”, set to be released June 22nd on Landlocked Records / FAB Distribution.

Led by singer and multi-instrumentalist extraordinaire C-Antoine Gosselin, and novelist, pedal steel and guitar player Philippe Custeau, Jake and the Leprechauns hail from the deep dark woods of the Eastern Townships of Quebec. The pair began trading songs by mail thirteen years ago while Custeau still lived and studied in Iowa.

Jake and the Leprechauns’ music is a genre-bending blend of folk, rock, country, and minimalist music with a strong focus on lyrics. Their first two albums, released in 2006 (Self-Titled) and 2008 (“A Long Dash”) respectively, feature guest appearances by some of Canada’s finest musicians, including Bob Egan (Blue Rodeo, Wilco), Andy Creegan (Barenaked Ladies) and Jim Bryson (The Tragically Hip, Kathleen Edwards), and managed to garner an impressive list of stellar reviews in Canada and in Europe.

The albums were both named ‘Best Of’ and the band’s live performances voted among the most important cultural events of the past three years by VOIR and La Tribune.

“At Midnight, The Birdsong” their third full-length release, was recorded with Mark Lawson (Arcade Fire) at The Mighty Hotel2Tango, and finds the band, along with friends Jim Guthrie, Robbie Kuster (Patrick Watson), Jeremy Strachan (Rockets Red Glare, The Sea Snakes), and Angela Desveaux, in fine form. On this new collection of songs, Gosselin and Custeau elevate their trademark musicianship and evocative, literate songwriting to new heights. This is Jake and the Leprechauns at their catchiest and most poetic.

“At Midnight, The Birdsong” is a lush, ambitious record by a band with seemingly unlimited creative potential, an album which is bound to threaten their status as one of Quebec’s best-kept secrets.


At Midnight, the Birdsong

01 When the Flood Came
02 The Year in Review
03 Busy Bee
04 Tangiers
05 Misunderstanding Entropy
06 The Modest Triumphs of a Life Examined
07 Remnants
08 From Here to There
09 A Unified Theory of Everything
10 We May As Well Have Been Kings
11 When It Breaks, It Breaks
12 Bowhead Song
13 Longanimity
14 You Looked So Small


21 May 2010 – Sherbrooke QC @ Antiquarius Cafe
22 June 2010 – Sherbrooke QC @ Antiquarius Cafe (CD Release Party)
19 July 2010 – Magog QC @ Vieux Clocher de Magog
26 August 2010 – Lac-Megantic QC @ Parc des Veterans

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top