Beastie Boys Announce new Album for Spring 2011


(October 25, 2010) — In what can only be described as a bizarre coincidence, following an exhaustive re-sequence marathon, Beastie Boys have verified that their new Hot Sauce Committee Part 2 will be comprised of the same 16 tracks originally slated for inclusion on Hot Sauce Committee Part 1.

The record (part 2 that is) will be released as planned in spring 2011 on Capitol.

The tracks originally recorded for Hot Sauce Committee Part 2 (which now are actually back on Part 1) have now apparently been bumped to make room for the former Hot Sauce Committee Part 1 material. Wait, what?

“I know it’s weird and confusing, but at least we can say unequivocally that Hot Sauce Committee Part 2 is coming out on time, which is more than I can say about Part 1, and really is all that matters in the end.” says Adam “MCA” Yauch. “We just kept working and working on various sequences for part 2, and after a year and half of spending days on end in the sequencing room trying out every possible combination, it finally became clear that this was the only way to make it work. Strange but true, the final sequence for Hot Sauce Committee Part 2 works best with all its songs replaced by the 16 tracks we originally had lined up in pretty much the same order we had them in for Hot Sauce Committee Part 1. So we’ve come full circle.”

Hot Sauce Committee Part 2 marks Yauch, Mike “Mike D” Diamond, and Adam “Ad Rock” Horovitz’s first full length effort since 2007’s Grammy winning all-instrumental The Mix-Up. The new track listing of the album is now as follows:

1. Tadlock’s Glasses
2. B-Boys In The Cut
3. Make Some Noise
4. Nonstop Disco Powerpack
5. OK
6. Too Many Rappers (featuring NAS)
7. Say It
8. The Bill Harper Collection
9. Don’t Play No Game That I Can’t Win (featuring Santigold)
10. Long Burn The Fire
11. Funky Donkey
12. Lee Majors Come Again
13. Multilateral Nuclear Disarmament
14. Pop Your Balloon
15. Crazy Ass Shit
16. Here’s A Little Something For Ya

Recently nominated for induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 2011, Beastie Boys are the single longest lived hip-hop act to continue to enjoy commercial and critical success. Formed in 1981, Beastie Boys first changed the course of popular music when their 1986 debut album Licensed To Ill became the first hip hop record to reach #1. Since then, Diamond, Horovitz and Yauch have amassed 40 million in record sales of a critically acclaimed canon including 1989’s landmark Paul’s Boutique, 1992’s Check Your Head, the #1-debuting trifecta of 1994’s Ill Communication, 1998’s Hello Nasty and 2004’s To The 5 Boroughs, and 2007’s The Mix-Up. Beastie Boys’ innovative videos earned them MTV’s Video Vanguard Lifetime Achievement award in 1998, while a Madison Square Garden show shot by 50 audience members was painstakingly edited into AWESOME; I F—-N’ SHOT THAT!, which debuted at Sundance in 2006. The band has also been lauded for its humanitarian efforts, ranging from organizing the Tibetan Freedom Concert series which drew attention to the Chinese government’s human rights violations in Tibet, to the New Yorkers Against Violence benefits, whose proceeds went to organizations chosen for their efforts on behalf of September 11th victims least likely to receive help elsewhere.

The exact release date of Hot Sauce Committee Part 2 and touring plans will be announced once details are available

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top