press releases

Gasoline Rainbows, a Compilation Featuring Music by Phoenix, The Black Keys, Vampire Weekend, and more, available now

Gasoline Rainbows, a Compilation Featuring Music by Phoenix, The Black Keys, Vampire Weekend, and more, available now!

Proceeds to go to Global Green to Benefit Communities Affected by Gulf Oil Spill

Compilation Brought To Life By Actress Sophia Bush and Actor Austin Nichols

Includes Brand New Material from Damien Rice, Amy Kuney, and City and Colour

When it comes to providing help to those in need, you can always count on musicians to do their part. To help communities impacted by the recent Deepwater Horizon oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico, some of today’s hottest bands have joined together with Global Green USA to release a benefit compilation entitled Gasoline Rainbows, out todaythrough Roark Records. Gasoline Rainbows is available exclusively via iTunes as a digital download.

The compilation was brought together by actress Sophia Bush and actor Austin Nichols, most well known for their roles on the television show One Tree Hill. Sophia and Austin travelled, with Global Green, to Grand Isle, Louisiana, to visit the beaches and see the devastation wrought by the Deepwater Horizon spill first hand. Moved by the stretches of oil along the once-beautiful beaches, as well as the devastation to the wildlife, they decided to help in whatever way they could, and this compilation is a direct result of that.

100% of the artist and label proceeds from Gasoline Rainbows will be used for Global Green’s oil spill response to directly assist the communities, people, and ecosystems impacted by the BP Oil Spill, educate the public, push for more regulation (to ensure a tragedy like this never happens again) and advocate for a greener, cleaner economy.

Gasoline Rainbows includes material by some of the most popular names in music, alongside new up-and-coming talents. The compilation includes music by LCD Soundsystem, Phoenix, Silversun Pickups, Vampire Weekend, Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros, amongst others.

Not only does the compilation feature incredible tracks by the aforementioned artists, but it alsol contains three brand new, previously unreleased tracks as well. Singer-songwriters Amy Kuney, Damien Rice and City and Colour will all be providing never before heard material for the compilation.

These new tracks are available for streaming from the Gasoline Rainbows myspace page:

Read below for the full track listing and to read more about Global Green.

1. “Gasoline Rainbows” – Amy Kuney*

2. “Armistice” – Phoenix

3. “40 Day Dream” – Edward Sharpe And The Magnetic Zeros

4. “There’s No Secret’s This Year” – Silversun Pickups

5. “At The Birds Foot” – City and Colour*

6. “The Connoisseur of Great Excuse” – Damien Rice*

7. “Bloodbuzz Ohio” – The National

8. “Tighten Up” – The Black Keys

9. “Let The Time Roll By” – Onward, Soldiers

10. “Moth’s Wings” – Passion Pit

11. “Floating Vibes” – Surfer Blood

12. “Mama Taught Me Better” – Black Rebel Motorcycle Club

13. “I Can Change” – LCD Soundsystem

14. “Cousins” – Vampire Weekend

*Brand new material

Global Green

Founded in 1994 by activist and philanthropist Diane Meyer Simon, Global Green is the American Arm of Green Cross International (GCI) and has been rated a Four Star Charity (the highest ranking) by Charity Navigator, the nation’s largest and most-utilized evaluator of charities. Global Green was founded in order to create a new approach to solving the world’s most pressing environmental challenges, from global climate change to disasters like the BP Oil Spill.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.