Helado Negro Set To Release New Album, Canta Lechuza, May 10 on Asthmatic Kitty! Listen to new track now


Listen to/download/share Helado Negro’s “Regresa,” off of Canta Lechuza

In November of last year Roberto Lange, aka Helado Negro, left Brooklyn for a month-long artist residence in rural Connecticut. From his piney retreat, Roberto awoke each morning to the dead-quiet of the forest. He got up, showered, put on a kettle, fixed a cup of black tea, then sat in the woods, om-ing out into the almighty (and very scenic) Void. Staring straight ahead, he centered himself for the recording hours to come. When the tea was gone he went back inside to get warm and began the workday. He was in a benevolent place with no pressure, where nothing moved, where all was quiet and subtle; a great cosmic calm presiding. The result is Helado Negro’s sophomore album, Canta Lechuza —a majestically pretty electronic pop record; easy going and beautifully mellow, but each piece danceable, each part a dance party.

Helado Negro’s debut full-length, Awe Owe, released in 2009, was a Latin psych-funk record – hip-hop-informed, humid, earthy, populated by collaborators. Canta Lechuza, however, is an intimate, personal beast, a solo affair built lovingly from live instruments, percussion, and field recordings, all processed through electronics, computers, and synthesizers. Like Roberto’s beat-makin’ project Epstein, Canta Lechuza is dance music turned inside out—percussion plipping and plapping, basslines smooth and dry as a tube of blue neon. Oscillating tone-shifts freeze up and fragmentize and become beats. Deep-space micro-drones emerge from hibernation, growling out from a wash of sun-filtered haze—morphing, squeezing, then bending themselves around globular droplets of blood-red electro.

Helado Negro’s Canta Lechuza is out May 10 on Asthmatic Kitty.

More on Roberto Lange:
The son of Ecuadorian immigrants, Roberto Carlos Lange was born in South Florida in 1980. His childhood was suffused with tropical heat, humidity, hurricanes, all refracted with the rich sounds and colors of the various Latin American cultures of southern Florida. Over the last few years Lange has collaborated with prominent visual and sound artist David Ellis to compose a new series of kinetic sound sculptures. Lange has also worked with School of Seven Bells, Paul Duncan, and Bear in Heaven as well as famed music producer Guillermo Scott Herren to produce Prefuse 73 and Savath and Savalas as an active member and contributor.

Canta Lechuza Tracklisting:
01. Globitos
02. Regresa
03. 2º Dia
04. Lechuguilla
05. Cenar en La Mañana
06. El Oeste
07. Obra Uno
08. Oreja De Arena
09. Con Suerte
10. Calculas
11. Alcanzar

Helado Negro Tour Dates:
Sat. Feb. 19 – Brooklyn, NY @ Union Pool w/ Jason Ajemian, Hush Arbors
Wed. March 23 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Smell w/ Prince Rama, Lucky Dragons, Sun Araw
Thu. March 24 – Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy & Harriet’s w/ O’Death
Fri. March 25 – Santa Cruz, CA @ 418 Project w/ O’Death
Sat. March 26 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent w/ O’Death
Sun. March 27 – Reno, NV @ Holland Project w/ O’Death
Tue. March 29 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern w/ O’Death
Wed. March 30 – Olympia, WA @ The Northern w/ O’Death
Thu. March 31 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge w/ O’Death

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top