Alexander Ebert To Release Debut Album Alexander Tomorrow, March 1st

Alexander Ebert To Release Debut Album Alexander Tomorrow, March 1st

Alexander Ebert, lead singer of Los Angeles entourage Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros, will be releasing his debut solo album Alexander tomorrow, March 1st via Community Music (Rough Trade will release the album in Europe today). The record will be streaming at until the album release on Tuesday. The album includes ten brand new songs that Alexander wrote and composed entirely himself. The cover art can be seen above, and the track-list can be found below.

During breaks from touring with the Zeroes over the past year, Alexander began building and recording the pieces that would become the songs for Alexander alone in his bedroom. Before beginning work on this album, all of the music he had worked on had been collaborative, especially with the 10-person Magnetic Zeroes.

There isn’t a single sound on the ten-song album that Alexander didn’t perform himself. Alone in his room, he had his guitar, a Lowery organ he picked up at a St. Vincent’s thrift store in Los Angeles for seventy bucks, a clarinet he used for the bridge on the record’s first single, “Truth,” and a violin he’d found somewhere in Tucson on tour. He had his own voice, his breath, his knees to slap, his fingers to snap and his toes to tap. When he knew that he wanted to use a violin on the bridge of “Glimpses,” he had an urge to call a friend to come play it for him, but then questioned why he wouldn’t try it himself. Says Alexander, “To me, it’s a very humble album with sky’s-the-limit sort of qualities, and so I didn’t really shy away from doing whatever I felt like doing.”

As for the music itself, Alexander explains that some of the inspirations for the “mouth sounds” that you can hear throughout the record were from all-time-favorites of his like the 1970 chart-topping ditty “In The Summertime” by British band Mungo Jerry. He also notes that children’s clapping games like Patty Cake and infectious and optimistic Disney tunes like “Zip A Dee Do Da” served as loose inspirations for him.

Alexander will perform at SXSW in Austin, TX next month, including KCRW’s showcase on Wednesday, March 16th at The Phoenix before returning to the studio to complete work on the upcoming second LP from Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes, which will be released later this year.

Alexander track listing:

1. Let’s Win!

2. Awake My Body

3. Truth

4. In The Twilight

5. Bad Bad Love

6. Old Friend

7. A Million Years

8. Remember Our Heart

9. Glimpses

10. Let’s Make A Deal To Not Make A Deal


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.