music videos

Sóley (of Seabear/Sin Fang) Reflects on Death in New Mixed Media Video for “Smashed Birds”

Sóley (of Seabear/Sin Fang) Reflects on Death in New Mixed Media Video for “Smashed Birds”

“Sóley’s music has an internal quietude that feels especially intimate.” – Refinery29

Click below to watch the video for “Smashed Birds” at Vimeo

Download the mp3 for “I’ll Drown” at Morr Music

Sóley Stefánsdóttir, student of composition and member of the Icelandic indie-collective Seabear and Sin Fang, has released a stunning new video for the single “Smashed Birds” taken from her debut full-length release, We Sink, out on October 4th via Morr Music.

Directed by Inga Birgisdottir, “Smashed Birds” incorporates the talented illustrator’s signature soft and quirky mixed media effects akin to the potrait photos she designed for Sóley. Birgisdottir was featured in this year’s Reykjavik Fashion Festival, and aside from creating fascinating works of video, illustration and photography, she created all of the artwork and imagery for her brother Jónsi Birgisson’s (of Sigur Ros and Jónsi & Alex) latest album.

It wasn’t until Sóley had been around the world and back with Seabear that she finally deemed her own voice as a proper singing one. We Sink is 13 tracks of intricate compositions where she combines seemingly disparate elements with stunning ease. Sometimes incredibly catchy and other times amazingly quirky, the album has a carefree quality reminiscent of earlier Icelandic acts but also calling to mind the sounds of Joanna Newsom, or the Casady sisters circa 2004. Sóley is in in the midst of a European tour with Sin Fang including an upcoming performance at this year’s Iceland Airwaves Festival.

We Sink Tracklisting

1. I’ll Drown
2. Smashed Birds
3. Pretty Face
4. Bad Dream
5. Dance
6. And Leave
7. Blue Leaves
8. Kill The Clown
9. Fight Them Soft
10. About Your Funeral
11. The Sun Is Going Down I
12. The Sun Is Going Down II

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.