Laetitia Sadier Announces Silencio; New Album out July 24 on Drag City


Silencio! It’s been two years since we took The Trip with Laetita Sadier. Her first true solo album since exiting the bedrooms of Monade and Stereolab, The Trip breathed freshly and deeply as both a personal homage to life’s journey and as a grieving process for the separations that are unavoidable within it. Born from a similar, natural need for stillness as well as agitation, Laetitia now delivers her follow-up LP, Silencio – an album exploring the individual connection to a deeper self, placed in a broader environment, in a similarly fresh kind of way.

Silencio! That noise preventing your connectivity comes from society – the noise of commercialism and the marketplace overwhelming your ability to cut deeply inward, prohibiting your inner-connections. Silencio may help you understand how to resist the rules of these systems, but only if you listen!

Within Silencio’s dynamic song structures, the album features some exciting collaboration: there’s a new jammer with former Stereolabber, Tim Gane; and musical drifter-man James Elkington provides writing for two tracks in addition to recording and playing on much of the record. Need some other freaky names? OK! Sam Prekop shows up mysteriously. But that’s a story for another time.

Guests aside, we’re more concerned with the singularity of Laetitia Sadier. That voice, the one that reaches you and wraps you up each time you hear it. Calm, direct. Cool and hot. If you’re unable to attain an inner connection with yourself, Laetitia will connect to it for you. Silencio is your human modem.

Silencio is out July 24th on Drag City. Following last year’s solo venture touring parts of the country with Beirut, Laetitia will return with full band this fall.

Silencio tracklisting:
01. The Rule of the Game
02. Find Me the Pulse of the Universe
03. Silent Spot
04. Auscultation to the Nation
05. There is a Price to Pay for Freedom (and it isn’t Security)
06. Moi Sans Zach
07. Between Earth and Heaven
08. Lightning Thunderbolt
09. Fragment pour le Future de L’homme
10. Merci de M’avoir Donn√© la Vie
11. Next Time You See Me
12. Invitation au Silence


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.