New Temples Single, “Keep In The Dark,” & Catch Them On First North American Tour This Fall

“Temples specialize in ’60s-washed psychedelia, blending anemic vocals and shaggy melodies into a wonderfully murky swirl.” – SPIN


“‘Colours To Life’ adeptly balances both their idols’ folk-pop roots and psych-rock branches . . . It’s an unearthing of a time capsule for sure, but ‘Colours To Life’ still can feel like a breath of fresh air.” – Pitchfork

“Their first single and calling card is last year’s ‘Shelter Song’, a jerky earworm of a 12-string guitar riff with a loping rhythm section, elegantly rough-hewn with vocals rendered in ’60s-style tinny sonic relief. . . ‘Colours To Life’ . . . found them foregrounding its spectral keyboards and pushing into increasingly expansive terrain.” – The Quietus

Kettering, England, psychedelic-pop band Temples introduced themselves to North American audiences last month via the “Shelter Song”/”Colours to Life” 7,” out now on Fat Possum. Today, the four-piece share a new 60s inspired, end-of-summer jam, the immediately endearing “Keep In The Dark,” and announce their first North American tour! Recorded and produced by the band in their own Pyramid Studio and mixed by Claudius Mittendorfer, “Keep In The Dark” is now available Fat Possum, featuring the b-side “Jewel Of Mine Eye.” In the meantime, check out the song’s new video, directed by Abbie Stephens and produced by Creature of London. Following the release of “Keep In The Dark,” Temples’ James Baghaw (vocals, guitar), Tom Warmsley (bass, backing vocals), Sam Toms (drums)and Adam Smith (keys) will make their way stateside for a 10-day Midwest and East Coast run in November showing North American audiences firsthand, this young, production-obsessed band can equally deliver on stage as on record.

“one of the brightest new lights of the current psych scene” – NME

“Temples deftly combine the vintage with the modern. ‘Shelter Song’ pulls off the sort of sonic alchemy that makes psych-rock fans’ ears perk up: Crackling drums, kaleidoscopic guitars and keyboards, and syrupy vocals that reference The Twilight Zone.” – MTV Hive [“The 10 Best Indie-Rock Tracks of July”]

TEMPLES TOUR DATES:
Mon. Nov. 18 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Tue. Nov. 19 – Detroit, MI @ The Loving Touch
Wed. Nov. 20 – Toronto, ON @ The Legendary Horseshoe Tavern
Thu. Nov. 21 – Montreal, PQ @ Le Petit Campus
Fri. Nov. 22 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott
Sat. Nov. 23 – Philadelphia, PA @ Kung Fu Necktie
Mon. Nov. 25 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Tue. Nov. 26 – Brooklyn, NY @ Union Pool
Wed. Nov. 27 – Washington, DC @ DC9

Fri. Aug 23 – Reading, UK @ Reading Festival 2013
Sat. Aug. 24 – Leeds, UK @ Leeds Festival 2013
Sun. Aug. 25 – Paris, FR @ Rock en Seine 2013
Fri. Sep. 13 – Port Meirion, UK @ Festival Number 6 2013
Sat. Sep. 14 – Portsmouth, UK @ Southsea Festival 2013
Wed. Sep. 25 – Frankfurt, DE @ Zoom
Thu. Oct. 3 – Guildford, UK @ Boileroom
Fri. Oct. 4 – Norwich, UK @ Norwich Arts Center
Sat. Oct. 5 – Leicester, UK @ O2 Academy 2 Liverpool
Tue. Oct. 8 – Sheffield, UK @ Queens Social Club
Wed. Oct. 9 – Glasgow, Uk @ King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut
Thu. Oct. 10 – Edinburgh, UK @ Electric Circus
Fri. Oct. 11 – Carlisle, UK @ The Brickyard
Sat. Oct. 12 – Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK @ Reds Bar
Mon. Oct. 14 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Tue. Oct. 15 – Liverpool, UK @ The Kazimier
Wed. Oct. 16 – Nottingham, UK @ The Bodega Social Club
Thu. Oct. 17 – York, UK @ The Duchess
Thu. Oct. 17 – Sun. Oct. 20 – Cardiff, UK @ Swn Festival 2013
Sat. Oct. 19 – Oxford, UK @ Gathering 2013
Mon. Oct. 21 – Brighton, UK @ Komedia Brighton
Tue. Oct. 22 – Exeter, UK @ Exeter Phoenix
Wed. Oct. 23 – Bristol, UK @ Thekla
Thu. Nov. 14 – Manchester, UK @ Manchester Gorilla
Fri. Nov. 15 – London, UK @ Electric Ballroom
Sat. Nov. 30 – Sun. Dec. 1 – Tokyo, JP @ Hostess Club Weekender 2013

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *