Halftooth Records Presents: MEDIAN – MEDIAN’S RELIEF

Halftooth Records Presents:MEDIAN – MEDIAN’S RELIEF


“The Justus League set the bar with Little Brother’s The Listening and Foreign Exchange’s Connected, but Median’s Relief is the best product to surface from the J-League camp…After a dose of enthralling concepts, intelligent rhymes and intimate snapshots, you’ll find that Median is anything but middle of the road.” — ArtOfRhyme.com

“With the excellent Median’s Relief, the North Carolina MC delivers one of the most daring and honest Hip Hop LPs in some time…Median has released one of the finest pieces of Hip Hop music this year; an everyman’s sojourn through life set to beautiful musical landscapes. There exists a real sense of Median giving the listener himself and nothing more, never pretending to be anything other than what he is – and that is clearly a relief.” — Okayplayer.com

“Simple, honest hip-hop can still bang. See Median, a North Carolinian lyricist whose debut plays like ‘easy listening’ hip-hop. Breezy, soulful instrumentals (Nicolay, Khrysis), life lessons (“Rize”) and Median’s slightly nasal tone join forces to speak uplifting truths.” — King Magazine

“Median takes a somber look at life and love, but leaves you in a feel good mood that makes you grateful for all that you have. Combining good music, smooth flows and rationality, Median’s Relief shows Median’s potential, and leaves you anticipating what he will do next.” — JiveMagazine.com

Every so often a musician comes along who uniquely captures the attention of the listener in a personal, heart-felt manner. Median, born James Livingston, has done just that. Median is part of the North Carolina based Hip-Hop crew The Justus League, which also consists of members Little Brother, The Away Team, Cesar Comanche, L.E.G.A.C.Y., Edgar Allen Flow, Chaundon and more.

Median first received a tremendous amount of attention and critical acclaim in 2003 when he emerged on the Hip-Hop scene with his memorable guest appearance on Little Brother’s certified-classic debut album, The Listening. Median made an even stronger impression on the Hip-Hop community with his classic 2005 single “Comfortable” (produced by 9th Wonder) b/w “2 Sided Coin (Remix)” (produced by Khrysis), as well as his outstanding songs such as “Visionary” and “Median Alleviates the Drama (M.A.D.)” from his critically acclaimed independently-released debut EP entitled The Path to Relief EP (2005). Median has since received even more recognition from his stand-out performances and quotable verses on albums including The Foreign Exchange’s Connected, Rapper Big Pooh’s Sleepers, Kenn Starr’s Starr Status and Cesar Comanche’s Squirrel And The Aces, leaving fans yearning for more material from the gifted lyricist. Now, with the recent release of his new chart-topping single “Rize” (produced by Khrysis) b/w “Love Again” (produced by Koen) & “How Big Is Your World?” (produced by 9th Wonder), as well as the forthcoming release of his debut full-length album Median’s Relief, Median is well on his way to proving himself as one of Hip-Hop’s brightest talents and one of Hip-Hop’s future stars.

Median’s Relief features outstanding production from 9th Wonder, Khrysis, Nicolay, Ant B, and more, as well as guest appearances from the likes of Joe Scudda, Chaundon, L.E.G.A.C.Y. and Spectac. From thought-provoking tracks like “Powershift,” “How Big Is Your World?” and “What Would You Do?” to uplifting and emotional songs like “Rize” and “Strides,” to captivating storytelling songs like “Brenda’s Baby” and “Personified,” to cleverly inventive songs like “Simile,” Median’s Relief covers a wide-range of emotions and subject-matter that is sure to engage and connect with the listener in a distinctive and electrifying way.

According to Median, “Median’s Relief is a journey through some of my life’s experiences thus far. Some of the songs are like excerpts from my personal journal. Other songs are just feel good records; sometimes I even touch on political and philosophical concepts, but always with the goal of making dope music.” Median’s Relief is a genuinely special and unique work of art that is sure to secure a place as one of the most notable, original and influential Hip-Hop albums of its time.

Track list & production credits for Median’s Relief:
1. Love Again featuring Real Love — Produced by Koen
2. Simile — Produced by Zo!
3. Collage — Produced by 9th Wonder
4. Personified — Produced by 9th Wonder
5. Rize featuring LaDehra — Produced by Khrysis
6. What Would You Do? — Produced by Ant B
7. Powershift — Produced by Nicolay
8. Brenda’s Baby — Produced by Nicolay
9. Right or Wrong? — Produced by Centric
10. Choices featuring Chaundon & Joe Scudda — Produced by 9th Wonder
11. How Big Is Your World? — Produced by 9th Wonder
12. Strides featuring Mark Wells — Produced by Nicolay
13. Pardon Me Dude featuring Louisha — Produced by C. Keen
14. 2 Sided Coin (Remix) featuring Spectac & L.E.G.A.C.Y. — Produced by Khrysis
15. Personified (Super-Charged Remix) — Produced by Khrysis
16. Comfortable (Midnight Remix) — Produced by Koen

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top