Press Releases

Del The Funky Homosapien – Eleventh Hour (Definitive Jux) – Release Date: 03/11/08

Del The Funky Homosapien – Eleventh Hour (Definitive Jux) – Release Date: 03/11/08

Del The Funky Homosapien – Eleventh Hour (Definitive Jux) – Release Date: 03/11/08

Del the Funky Homosapien has leaked a new track from his upcoming album Eleventh Hour to be released on March 11th via Definitive Jux records. The track, entitled “Bubble Pop” is the first glimpse into Del’s long awaited solo follow-up to a string of popular albums released in the 1990s (I Wish My Brother George Was Here, No Need for Alarm, Future Development, and Both Sides of the Brain). Since then, the Bay Area MC has concentrated on several collaborations; including 2000’s Deltron 3030 with Dan “The Automator” Nakamura and Kid Koala and 2001’s Gorillaz with Blur’s Damon Albarn. But fans have been hungry for another solo album from one of the most creative rappers on the scene.

Eleventh Hour is that album, and it was eight years in the making. During that time, Del holed up in the studio to study music theory and produce the majority of the tracks on what would be his fifth solo album. “Bubble Pop,” which premiered yesterday on, is the first track from Eleventh Hour to go public, and it shows Del’s new approach to his craft.

“You’ll probably spend the first thirty seconds of “Bubble Pop” wondering where Del got the chutzpah to sample the bell-heavy, “Peter Piper”-claimed bit of Bob James’ “Take Me to the Mardi Gras” break and the last thirty having pretty much forgotten why it might’ve been questionable in the first place. Whether that’s due to Del’s MCing or his production is your call, really. The track’s got a pretty dense beat where the bells have to spar with this doughy, bouncy bassline that’s frivolous and ridiculous and vaguely caricature– futuristic in a likeable way; think Zapp crossed with incidental music from The Jetsons…” writes Pitchfork.

See below for a link to download Del the Funky Homosapien’s “Bubble Pop” and for Eleventh Hour’s full track list, including two bonus tracks to be included with the digital release.

Listen to Del the Funky Homosapien’s “Bubble Pop” from Eleventh Hour (Definitive Jux)

Del The Funky Homosapien Eleventh Hour track list:

1. Raw Sewage
2. Bubble Pop
3. Back In The Chamber
4. True Endevours
5. Situations
6. Naked Fonk
7. Hold Your Hand
8. Foot Down
9. I’ll Tell You
10. Workin’ It
11. Last Hurrah
12. Str8t Up and Down
13. I Got You
14. Funkyhomosapien

Digital bonus tracks “Drop It Lower” and “Full Throttle”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.