Global Hip-Hop Artist K’naan To Release Award-Winning Album in U.S. For The First Time. The Dusty Foot Philosopher Deluxe Version, which combines conscious hip-hop, protest poetry, and global rhythms, to be released in June.

The Dusty Foot Philosopher Deluxe Version, which combines conscious hip-hop, protest poetry, and global rhythms, to be released in June.

K’naan, global hip-hop artist, is set to release his critically acclaimed album, The Dusty Foot Philosopher, for the first time in the U.S. Originally released in Canada, the album received a Juno Award for Best Rap Recording of the Year and was the BBC 3 Winner for Best New Artist, World Music. The American version of the album features re-recorded songs, extra tracks, and a bonus DVD. Entitled The Dusty Foot Philosopher Deluxe Version, the album will be released by Bay Area record label, Interdependent Media on June 24th, 2008.

Using his ability to blend Western and African sounds, K’naan’s album is a fusion of world music and hip-hop that borrows from the protest songs of Bob Marley, the hip-hop lyricism of Mos Def, and the storytelling and tribal rhythms of Somalia. The Deluxe Version of the album features newly mixed and recorded versions of three songs, a bonus track featuring M-1 from dead prez, new artwork, and a bonus DVD. The DVD includes all the music videos from the album, a video introduction to K’naan and an episode of 4Real TV on Kenya hosted by K’naan.

Born in war-torn Somalia, a country that has not had a functioning government since 1991, K’naan’s family moved to Harlem after catching the last domestic flight out of Somalia, and eventually settled in Ontario, Canada. On The Dusty Foot Philosopher K’naan writes about daily life in Somalia, the warlords that run his country, and the scourge of violence that has blighted much of Africa. Despite the violence K’naan has experienced, his lyrics address the possibilities for positive change. On “Until the Lion Learns to Speak,” K’naan is backed by a solo African drum while he rhymes, “I’m asking we be the ones/ to free our people from guns.” “Soobax,” the first single from the album, challenges Somalia’s warlords to leave the country by laying down a memorable hook that evokes the lively rhythms and energy of the Somalian people. In a time when mainstream America and the world are desperately looking for music that lifts spirits and creates a sense of hope and change, K’naan’s music acts as an urgent wakeup call.

Track & Field, the team that produced Nelly Furtado’s 5-time Grammy nominated Whoa Nelly, produced The Dusty Foot Philosopher. The critical acclaim K’naan received has led to tours with Mos Def, Nelly
Furtado, The Roots, Damian Marley, dead prez, Pharoahe Monch, an appearance on Live 8, and production nods from Damian Marley. Dusty Foot Philosopher Deluxe Version will be released everywhere in the U.S. on Interdependent Media on June 24th.

Track Listing of The Dusty Foot Philosopher Deluxe Version

1. Wash It Down
2. Soobax
3. What’s Hardcore?
4. My Old Home
5. Moment
6. I Was Stabbed By Satan
7. My God
8. Smile
9. If Rap Gets Jealous
10. The Dusty Foot Philosopher
11. Strugglin’
12. In The Beginning
13. Hoobale
14. The African Way Ft. Mwafrika
15. Voices In My Head
16. Boxing My Shadow
17. For Mohamoud (Soviet)
18. Until The Lion Learns To Speak
19. Blues For The Horn
20. Til We Get There

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top