Categories
Press Releases

Portishead on Current TV Tonight 6pm ESTPortishead on Current TV Tonight 6pm EST

Portishead on Current TV Tonight 6pm EST

CURRENT PARTNERS WITH PORTISHEAD FOR EXCLUSIVE BROADCAST PERFORMANCE ON APRIL 11 PORTISHEAD TO PLAY COACHELLA ON SATURDAY APRIL 26 THIRD TO BE RELEASED ON APRIL 29 MERCURY/ISLAND

“Portishead In Portishead” Performance

Portishead perform tracks from ‘Third’

“Portishead in Portishead” airs exclusively on www.portishead.co.uk today April 11th at 6pm EST- The band will be performing 7 tracks from the new album ‘Third’. To view this you will have to sign up. Your information will be kept by Portishead and not passed on to a 3rd party so we advise signing up early if you haven’t already done so to avoid frustration.

Futhermore, after the 40 minute programme airs on the bands site, Current TV is scheduled to air the 40-minute, commercial-free special in the US and UK four hours after its initial webcast on Portishead.com on April 11th. This will be broadcast on Current TV at 10pm EST/ 7pm PST. The network will continue to air the performance until the US release (Mercury/Island) of “Third’” on April 29. The album will hit stores the day before in the U.K. on Island Records.

Current TV

Webcast/Broadcast Times:
Current TV* (see below for distribution channels):
• April 11, 2008 at 10pm EST / 7pm PST and 1am EST / 10pm PST
• April 12, 2008 at 11am EST / 8am PST and 3am EST / 12am PST
• April 13, 2008 at 3pm EST / 12pm PST and 11pm EST / 8pm PST
• April 14, 2008 at 8pm EST / 5pm PST
• April 15, 2008 at 3am EST / 12am PST
• April 16, 2008 at 6pm EST / 3pm PST
• April 17, 2008 at 12pm EST / 9am PST
• April 18, 2008 at 12am EST / 9pm PST

Current.com
• April 8, 2008 at midnight EST/ 9am PST (band interview)
• April 11, 2008 at 10pm EST / 7pm PST (band performance)

On April 26 the US can witness Poritshead live as they play the main stage at the Coachella Music festival

“Portishead’s Third may be one of the most anticipated records of the last decade.” -MTV

“Daring and Unsettling” – MOJO

“Third is the most stunning, stark and superb Portishead album yet.” ***** – UNCUT

“Third is far and away the best, most punk thing in the Portishead catalog.” -Paste

“A stunning new album.” – The Observer

“The same British trio who helped introduce trip-hop to the musical vocabulary has made an album that, like Radiohead’s best work, makes programmed paranoia a seductive rabbit hole to disappear into.” – ELLE

“In part, all of the signature elements of the Portishead sound remain: Geoff Barrow’s RZA-like penchant for hard beats and tidal waves of strings, seemingly lifted from some dusty soul LP; Adrian Utley’s reverb-drenched guitar scrawls; and Beth Gibbons’ scarily mournful vocals. But like the transition between the first two albums, Third amplifies these qualities with compositions that are starker, more terrifying” – Under the Radar, 9/10

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.