Artists Den and Columbia Records to Release Live Raphael Saadiq DVD July 21st First concert DVD from Raphael Saadiq features 18 songs performed at the Harvard Club of Boston Exclusive DVD pre-release beginning June 18 at

Artists Den and Columbia Records to Release Live Raphael Saadiq DVD July 21st First concert DVD from Raphael Saadiq features 18 songs performed at the Harvard Club of Boston Exclusive DVD pre-release beginning June 18 at

On July 21, 2009 Artists Den Entertainment and Columbia Records will release Raphael Saadiq: Live from the Artists Den, the first concert DVD from the Grammy-nominated artist and producer. The DVD, which will be distributed by RED, was filmed at an intimate, private performance at the Harvard Club of Boston, and selections from the show aired nationwide on public television’s Live from the Artists Den, the hit weekly music series featuring extraordinary artists performing in extraordinary settings. Released now in full for the first time, the DVD features bonus interview clips and concert footage not included in the television broadcast.

The DVD will be sold exclusively at beginning June 18 to benefit WNET.ORG New York Public Media.

Raphael Saadiq broke through the American mainstream as a member of multi-platinum R&B innovators Tony! Toni! Tone! The Grammy-winning producer has worked with a roster of superstars including Mary J. Blige, D’Angelo, Earth, Wind & Fire, John Legend, Joss Stone and Macy Gray. He has released two solo studio albums that have received eight Grammy nominations between them, including a record-setting five for his Instant Vintage debut in 2002 — the most nominations ever for an independent release — and three for 2008’s The Way I See It — Best R&B Album, Best Traditional R&B Vocal Performance and Best R&B Performance By A Duo Or Group. A modern-day blend of ’60s soul and R&B’s old-school roots, NPR’s “World Cafe” hailed The Way I See It as one of 2008’s Top 10 CDs, a sentiment that was echoed in year-end awards ranging from iTunes to Rolling Stone. The accolades only further heightened Saadiq’s respect amongst his peers, where his collaborations have included Whitney Houston, Snoop Dogg, QTip, Ledisi, The Isley Brothers, Erykah Badu, The Roots and Kelis. This summer he will perform at the Hollywood Bowl, kicking off the 2009 KCRW World Festival Series, in addition to playing the Bonnaroo, Essence, and Bumbershoot music festivals.

Saadiq warmed up the cold winter night of December 3, 2008 with a nine-piece band in the hallowed Harvard Club of Boston, built in 1912. Of playing the unique room, Saadiq said, “This building has some history and this music has some history, so I think it’s a perfect match.”

The concert DVD features 18 tracks – most from The Way I See It – and song introductions by Saadiq, including a somber reflection on “Big Easy,” a tribute to those who lost loved ones during Hurricane Katrina.

Raphael Saadiq: Live from the Artists Den is the third concert DVD release from the Artists Den and its first joint release with Columbia Records.

About the Artists Den

The Artists Den has been presenting emerging and established musicians in unique settings around the world since its inception in 2004. The venture began as one music lover’s vision of staging outstanding live music in non-traditional venues. Initially a series of private living room concerts, the Artists Den expanded to include unforgettable performances across North America and Europe by some of today’s most significant names in music — in some of the most interesting, off-the-beaten-path locations imaginable. Live from The Artists Den premiered on public television in February 2009 funded in part by Grey Goose Entertainment. It is produced in association with WLIW21 for and distributed by American Public Television in over 70 markets nationwide. Recordings from concerts are released nationally as CD / DVD titles by Artists Den Records. For more information, visit

About Columbia Records

One of the most respected and successful record labels in the world, Columbia Records is home to established superstars and exciting new talent. Columbia Records is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Sony Music Entertainment.

Sony Music Entertainment is a global recorded music company with a roster of current artists that includes a broad array of both local artists and international superstars. The company boasts a vast catalog that comprises some of the most important recordings in history. Sony Music Entertainment is a wholly owned subsidiary of Sony Corporation of America.

Track List:

1. 100 Yard Dash
2. Love That Girl
3. Keep Marching
4. Thinking Of You
5. Living For The Weekend
6. Dance Tonight
7. La La
8. Sure Hope You Mean It
9. Charlie Ray
10. Be Here
11. Still Ray
12. Just One Kiss
13. Oh Girl
14. Let’s Take A Walk
15. Big Easy
16. Staying In Love
17. Love That Girl Reprise
18. Skyy, Can You Feel Me

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top