RJD2 Embarks on Third Leg of Four-Month Tour, Releases New Videos And Remix!

RJD2 Embarks on Third Leg of Four-Month Tour, Releases New Videos And Remix!

Philly’s own RJD2 is preparing to embark on the third leg of his massive four-month tour, and where better to start it than in his hometown of Philadelphia? RJ kicks things off on the east coast, with two shows in New York City, before heading up through Canada and down into the belly of the Midwest.

RJ and friends have been releasing videos at a feverish pace, with two new videos released in the last month! “The Glow” featured a vicious yuppie Ken doll, wreaking havoc in his endless search for the spotlight and more personal possessions. The newest, premiered yesterday on Spin.com, is the strangely psychedelic, slightly post-apocalyptic envisioning of the song “A Spaceship For Now.” From RJ:

“What I love about the video is how surreal and weird it is. It’s like a timeline with gaps in it that basically forces you to come up with your own storyline or chronology. Or you can just bug out on the big ambience of the synths. It’s a perfect fit.”

In addition to the slew of videos, Brooklyn-based musician, multi-instrumentalist, and producer Alan Wilkis (http://www.wilcassettes.com) has remixed the track “A Shining Path.” Be sure to take heed.

What the press is saying about RJD2’s The Colossus [RJ’s Electrical Connections]:

“Featuring his famous knob-twisting wizardry, white-hot cameos and live tracks, the album helps illustrate just how sonically dexterous he really is. This kaleidoscopic album veers effortlessly from jammy instrumental interludes to fist-pumping hip-hop tracks and spastic dance numbers that deserve a place on your heavy rotation playlist.” – Relix

“This hip hop shape-shifter’s new disc suggests that he’s ready to give the people what they want. On the funky, eclectic Colossus, RJD2 returns to the sampling. . . supplementing it with guest spots and live instruments.” – Wired

“The Colossus should remind everyone how talented DJ-producer Ramble John Krohn was before he crafted the award-winning Mad Men theme. It’s his finest album since 2002’s instrumental hip-hop classic Deadringer, balancing punchy funk (‘Let There Be Horns’) with soul ballads (‘Games You Can Win,’ featuring pensive vocals from Kenna).” – SPIN

“The Colossus hopscotches across RJD2’s resume like a giddy kid…Krohn’s the real deal, in a world full of one-dimensional deriviatives.” – Filter

“Welcome back, Ramble John.” – XLR8R

RJD2 Tour Dates:

Fri. Mar. 5 – Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church #&

Sat. Mar. 6 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg #&

Sun. Mar. 7 – New York, NY @ Highline Ballroom #&

Mon. Mar. 8 – Boston, MA @ Paradise #&

Tue. Mar. 9 – Providence, RI @ Jerky’s Music Hall #&

Wed. Mar. 10 – Montreal, QC @ La TuLipe #&

Thu. Mar. 11 – Toronto, ON @ The Mod Club #&

Fri. Mar. 12 – Detroit, MI @ Magic Stick #&

Sat. Mar. 13 – Chicago, IL @ Metro #&

Mon. Mar. 15 – Minneapolis, MN @ Triple Rock Social Club #&

Tue. Mar. 16 – Madison, WI @ Majestic Theater #&

Thu. Mar. 18 – Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop #&

Fri. Mar. 19 – Millvale, PA @ Mr. Small’s Theater #&

Fri. Apr. 2 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater #$

Sat. Apr. 3 – Durango, CO @ Strater Theatre #$

Sun. Apr. 4 – Phoenix, AZ @ Rhythm Room #$

Mon. Apr. 5 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah #$

Tue. Apr. 6 – Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey Theatre #$

Wed. Apr. 7 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent #$

Thu. Apr. 8 – Eureka, CA @ Red Fox Tavern #$

Fri. Apr. 9 – Portland, OR @ Dantes #$

Sat. Apr. 10 – Bellingham, WA @ The Nightlight Lounge #$

Sun. Apr. 11 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos #$

# w/ Happy Chichester

& w/ Break Science

$ w/ Busdriver

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top