Debut Commercial Release To Drop June 1st On The High Water Music Imprint

The Good Sun Features Production From Ski Beatz, Pyscho Les (Beatnuts) & 2 Hungry Bros

“The only thing to expect is to not know what to expect.” (Source Magazine)

“Sharp lyrics and irresistibly melodic flow…form an elastic instrument few mcs can match.” (XXL Magazine)

Lyrical monster, with an endless supply of wordplay and the ability to employ supernatural, off-beat flows.”(Okayplayer.com)

It’s about time people started recognizing emcees as some of the finest musicians in the world.

Enter Homeboy Sandman and his debut commercial release, “The Good Sun” (in stores 6-1-2010). The album, his first on NYC indie powerhouse High Water Music, boasts not only the otherworldly lyrical and thematic dexterity that have quickly made Boy Sand a champion of the national talent-based hip hop community, but also his most personal material to date. “The Good Sun is setting a lot of things straight. If somebody sets someone else straight, it might be referred to as ‘sonning’ them. I’m ‘sonning’ people with this album—a lot of people. It’s the good son though. It’s all done with love” says the Queens, NY emcee.

The album’s lead single, “Not Pop,” is an aggressively delivered mission statement delivered over infectious tribal drums, where Sandman swears never to succumb to the fraudulent undercurrent of mainstream media. “You move in Rihanna and Ciara midst/rare are moments where motives are clear as a Sierra Mist.” “Being Haved,” produced by DJ Spinna, (Stevie Wonder, Eminem, Michael Jackson), showcases vintage Homeboy Sandman storytelling, as he narrates his own unique coming of age. “Yeah But I Can Rhyme Though” produced by Ski Beatz (Jay-Z, Camp Lo), is an emotionally charged third person narrative questioning Sandman about his career. Other tracks such as “The Carpenter” and “Strange Planet” highlight the former Public School teacher’s intellect and his unique stands on violence, social issues and sustainable living. Also along for the ride on production are Psycho Les (Beatnuts, Mos Def), underground heroes 2 Hungry Bros and Core Rhythm, and quickly rising newcomers M Slago, and KO Beatz.

A recent recipient of MTV’s Buzzworthy, Homeboy Sandman has already received regular rotation on New York City’s #1 ranked radio Hot 97.1, Sirius Satellite Radio nationally, and BBC radio internationally. He appeared on DJ Spinna’s critically acclaimed “Sonic Smash” album and has been featured in Blender Magazine, XXL Magazine, and The Source. His live show chops include 9 shows at last months South By Southwest Music Festival, The Roots Presents, The Brooklyn Hip Hop Festival, and 3 special guest appearances on last years Rock The Bells.

It’s the dawn of a new era and in an age where health care reform and economic issues are no longer strictly political issues, fans are demanding more from artists—Homeboy Sandman is more then up for the challenge “the sun is rising and it’s a new day. Illumination is on deck! It’s been a long night, like one of those Alaskan Polar six month nights, or that zombie movie where it was night for a month. There’s been heavy zombie activity taking place, but here comes the sun; finally!”

Tracklisting and credits for Homeboy Sandman’s The Good Sun LP:

1.) Core Rhythm (produced by Core Rhythm)
2.) The Carpenter (produced by 2 Hungry Bros)
3.) Not Pop (produced by Core Rhythm)

4.) Yeah But I Can Rhyme Though (produced by Ski Beatz)
5.) Table Cloth f/Fresh Daily (produced by M Slago)
6.) Low Co. (produced by Pyscho Les)
7.) Mean Mug (produced by Ben Grymm)

8.) The Essence (produced by 2 Hungry Bros)

9.) Strange Planet (produced by KO Beatz)

10.) Being Haved (produced by DJ Spinna)

11.) The Things They Carried f/John Robinson & Daniel Joseph (produced by Core Rhythm)

12.) Calm Tornado (produced by Thieven’ Steven)

13.) Listen (produced by Kentron The Mastadon)

14.) Angels With Dirty Faces (produced by J57)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top