Media Press Releases

Lateef The Truthspeaker drops Mocky (Feist producer) remix

Recorded over four months in Oakland, Lateef the Truthspeaker’s FireWire brings together some of the best producers in hip-hop on one album, including Chief Xcel, DJ Shadow, Dan the Automator, Somehow at Sea and Headnodic (Crown City Rockers, Mighty Underdogs). Bay Area stalwarts Lyrics Born, Del and The Grouch turn up as well, giving the album a congenial, familial feel. Lateef’s debut solo LP is coming via Quannum Projects on November 8th, 2011. In the meantime, listen to Mocky’s remix of “Oakland” featuring Del the Funky Homosapien and The Grouch right here via Prefix Mag:

MP3: Lateef The Truthspeaker – “Oakland” (Mocky Remix) feat. Del the Funky Homosapien and The Grouch

The son of two Black Panthers – his mother was a roommate of famed activist Angela Davis – Lateef was part of an anti-apartheid group at the age of 4; the same age he first hopped on a mic. After co-founding legendary hip-hop collective SoleSides (later renamed Quannum Projects) in the early ’90s, Lateef became an integral component in the Bay Area hip- hop scene, co-founding Latyrx (with Lyrics Born), Lateef and the Chief (with Chief Xcel) and The Mighty Underdogs (with Headnodic and Gift of Gab) and collaborating with everyone from Z-Trip to Fatboy Slim. 2012 marks the 20th anniversary of the Quannum / Solesides family.

FireWire stands as Lateef’s most musically ambitious and diverse project to date; the musical equivalent of hip-hoppers, hipsters, dance heads, R&B lovers and unapologetic pop fans all doing shots at the same party. “We The People” opens with a Kraftwerk-style intro before morphing into a New Wave track that would make Gary Numan proud. “Oakland,” a heartfelt, candid tribute to Lateef’s native city, hits with dirty funk drums, while “Left Alone” fuses Steely Dan-esque ’70s rock with retro ’80s drum machines. Inspired by everyone from Toro Y Moi to Radiohead, it’s as if Lateef found his inner Rakim, Paul Simon, Juan Atkins and R. Kelly simultaneously. “You have to make an album that you like and enjoy performing and that you like to listen to,” says the rapper

“I wanted a name that encapsulates the organic and digital aspects of the album,” Lateef says of the title. “The album’s sonic cohesiveness comes from the marriage of the two sounds. I wanted to showcase both aspects of my versatility in terms of singing and rapping. I’m not D’Angelo or Luther Vandross, but I can definitely carry a tune.”

“Social consciousness is integral to all my work. It informs my baseline moral values, politics and my attitude toward propaganda. A lot of those values are out of favor and not as popular as they once were but I’m not afraid to tackle more difficult subject matter or stuff other people may not feel comfortable speaking on.” On the DJ Shadow-produced “Say What You Want,” for example, Lateef imagines a revenge tale born out of the real-life shooting of his cousin and the death of the shooter at the hands of another cousin.

In the end, talent, intellect and charisma have allowed Lateef the Truthspeaker to stand on his own two feet; rising past all internal and external challenges. Look out for the new album this fall and be sure to check out Lateef on tour with Latyrx for their reunion shows coming up.

1. Let’s Get Up (prod. by Chief Xcel)
2. FireWire Interlude
3. Oakland (feat. Del & The Grouch)
4. Only Thought
5. We the People (prod. by Chief Xcel)
6. Heckuvit
7. Hardship Enterprise (feat. Lyrics Born)
8. So Sexy
9. Testimony
10. Left Alone (prod. by Dan the Automator)
11. Say What You Want (prod. by Shadow)
12. Sara
13. Inside You

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.