Meet GQ The New Secret Weapon From 9th Wonder’s Jamla Army


GQ’s ‘Death Threats and Love Notes: The Prelude Features Production From 9th Wonder, Khrysis, Fatin & Eric. G & Will Be Released On 3-26-2013 on Jamla Records

They say it’s different across the bridge, and there is something definitely different about GQ. In the words of 9th Wonder, simply put, “he’s a star”. GQ, who Grammy Award winning producer, 9th Wonder, coins his “secret weapon” is not only a former NCAA basketball champion, but in fact Oakland’s next Hip Hop hero.

Born and raised in Oakland, California, GQ (also known as Quentin Thomas) found his passion for music at an early age; nine to be exact. Influenced by a wide array of music genres and artist, the young GQ became a fan of lyrics and started to pen his first rhymes; all while training to be a college hoops star. In 2004 he was recruited by Roy Williams to play for the University of North Carolina’s storied basketball program; and was a member of the 2005 National Championship team his freshman year. Some years later, and already a champion of one passion, he was well on his way to being a champion of his other – rhyming.

GQ signed with 9th Wonder in 2009, one of the last artists to join the budding Jamla roster, which has grown to be one of the most buzzed about indie labels today. Of the multi-talented emcee, 9th Wonder says, “he isn’t a basketball player that can rhyme; he is a rapper that can ball.” His style is passionate, controlled, lyrical and he is a master of telling the gritty, dark tales of the place we know as “OakTown”.

In 2010, GQ was featured on EA Sports’ NBA Live 10 video game, alongside Mississippi’s own, David Banner. The following year, the Oakland emcee released a few singles, and a three-part mixtape series, entitled “Blended”, before unleashing his first project under the Jamla imprint “Trouble Man.”

Currently, GQ is setting up for a big 2013 introduction with his two part release, “Death Threats and Love Notes”: The Prelude the prequel to his debut album “Death Threats and Love Notes” which features guest appearances from Nipsey Hussle, Kurupt, Rapsody, Heather Victoria and production from 9th Wonder & The Soul Council. GQ’s “Death Threats & Love Notes”: The Prelude will be released on 3-26-2013 via Jamla Records.

Tracklisting and credits for GQ’s Death Threats and Love Notes: The Prelude:

1.) “Repetition” (produced by Ka$h)

2.) “Around The World” (produced by E.Jones)

3.) “I’m Gone” (produced by Eric G.)

4.) “Too High” (produced by Sinopsis)

5.) “The Town” (produced by 9th Wonder)

6.) “Last Breath” (produced by 9th Wonder)

7.) “Memento” (produced by Fatin)

8.) “This Is Me” f/ Carlitta Durand (produced by Fatin)

9.) “Back Here” (produced by Eric G.)

10.) “Amazing” (produced by Eric G.)

11.) “Grind In” (produced by AMP)

12.) “I Know” f/ Rapsody & Rocki Evans (produced by Khrysis)

13.) “World Turns” (produced by 9th Wonder)

GQ’s “The Town” video

(Video is directed by Kenneth Price & VanDope)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top